Proclamation of the CSISAC 2017-2019 Steering Committee

July 13, 2017

The following members of CSISAC have been elected to stand for the Steering Committee for the 2017-2019 term:

  • Marc Rotenberg
  • Deborah Brown
  • Đorđe Krivokapić
  • Renata Ávila
  • Valeria Milanes
  • Cédric Laurant
  • Malavika Jayaram
  • YJ Park

With this notice, the 2015-2017 Steering Committee of the CSISAC gets formally constituted.

The CSISAC Steering Committee is elected by the CSISAC members to manage the coalition and represent it for a two-year term. The maximum size of the Steering Committee is eight members, and they are elected in two steps. First, a maximum of 5 members are elected through vote by the membership. Second, the elected candidates can appoint other CSISAC members to improve the territorial, gender and expertise balance of the final composition.

The election for the 2017-2019 Steering Committee took place without incidents, following the planned schedule. 66 out of 135 ballots were processed using an open source voting platform, with the results below. The platform provided anonymity and random display of candidates to ensure a fair, open and transparent process.

  1. Marc Rotenberg (EPIC) 37
  2. Deborah Brown (APC) 34
  3. Đorđe Krivokapić (EDRi) 34
  4. Renata Ávila (WWWF) 30
  5. Valeria Milanes (ADC) 25
  6. Cédric Laurant (Artículo 12) 25

The election rules allow the elected members to appoint other members to improve the gender, territorial, and expertise diversity of the Steering Committee, up to a total size of 8 members. The elected members found that the Asia region needed improved representation, and decided to appointed the following two members:

  1. Malavika Jayaram
  2. YJ Park

This result was announced in the CSISAC Membership Mailing List, and the new members subscribed to the Steering Committee Mailing List. The former members of the Steering Committee will remain subscribed until the end of a transition period to facilitate the transfer of knowledge and integration of the new members.